Skip to content

Child of Alara

January 18, 2009

(W)(U)(B)(R)(G) Trample. When Child of Alara is put into a graveyard from play, destroy all non-land permanents. They can’t be regenerated. 6/6. 

crib_swapI suggest that the only way you get rid of this baby is with an old fashioned crib swap. This card should be code named Benjamin Button.

It is hard to tell how much this card will effect Standard play. 5 color control gets serious removal on a reoccurring basis with Cruel Ultimatum‘s ability of returning a creature from your graveyard to your hand. Kitchen finks will still be hanging on though. Not to mention this kid is a heavy hitter, and nobody wants to hurt a child. Makeshift Mannequin can make this slugger a seriously annoying reanimation. Imagine this, end of their turn, snag out your Child of Alara. It can now attack and be such a serious threat for their board. Do I take 6? Block some of the trample damage and make sure I don’t kill it? Or nuke the field. 

Upon first glance I wonder how that kind of tempo change could help any of the current decks that are being played. The metagame will shift when Conflux comes up over the hillside in less than 3 weeks. Will Child of Alara make an appearance? My bet is, ‘Yes’. It is far too powerful and easy to cast to not see constructed play. A new breed of beat down coming from the man-lands like Treetop Village could be in our future. Don’t be surprised if hideaway lands are holding many of the spells in this set either (Nicol Bolas, Conflux, Progenitus just for starters).

Into the graveyard from play is a pretty popular triggered ability in this set so far, and getting there isn’t hard. I am going to test you guys with a little rulings question. What do you think would happen in the following: Devour being a static ability triggers when Skull Mulcher resolves and is coming into play, so there for, you have an option to sacrifice creatures. You control the following creatures: Child of Alara. Now this is where the knowledge of the stack is an important tool in playing magic. Do you devour the Child of Alara or don’t you? If you do devour it, does your Skull Mulcher stay alive or doesn’t it? Leave it in the comments!

Official Conflux spoilers start in one hour and so does Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Wish him a happy birthday and I’ll see you at midnight along with many other eager readers as we are refreshing the Magic website for the first look into our game’s future.

Bon Voyage,

Dillon

Advertisements
4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 5:32 am

    Why would you need a Crib Swap to handle this if we just got “Path to Exile” in Conflux which solves the Problem better for one third of the cost?

  2. Dillon permalink*
    January 19, 2009 11:58 am

    You wouldn’t want to startle the mother of Alara (by the way, this was just for flavor, not being serious).
    You are right, Path to Exile will be the way to go nearly every time, silbert. It is just too powerful of a card to not use.

  3. January 19, 2009 3:21 pm

    Path to exile, Crib swap or Unmake can remove Child of Alara from the game, but I still think Child is a real good card. Until now, it is the only card that can make me play 5 color decks, adding Tribal flames and Might of Alara, and may be Matca rioters. Perhaps it will come some nasty combo with Child. Not bad card at all.

  4. Marc permalink
    February 26, 2009 8:47 pm

    This is what I think:

    Do you devour the Child of Alara or don’t you?
    -> It is your choice (option), as you said.

    If you do devour it, does your Skull Mulcher stay alive or doesn’t it?
    -> It doesn’t, because the effect from the Child will make you destroy Skullmuncher. The Skullmuncher is already in play when the devour triggers so you’ll have to destroy it. You still get the draw though.

    This is like Fleshbag Marauder, you can sacrifice him on his effect.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: