Skip to content

New artwork for Path to Exile

March 7, 2009

picture-11Rebecca Guay might not have done any art for Conflux, but here she comes in full force for alternate art Path to Exile. As much as I have been debating Swords to Plowshares vs Path to Exile, I must say that this nearly wins the art contest against Russel Crowe holding a scythe in the middle of a hillside praire.

So, let me hear what you think: Swords or Path. I know each of them have their advantages, but you must now choose only one. Choose wisely.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2009 11:54 am

    I should think (as you have stated) that each of the cards have their particular advantages. Furthermore, the disadvantage of one card over the other would only become painfully clear in situational play and can really only be judged against another deck. My overall feeling – I would rather give my opponent a basic land than any life gain.

  2. March 8, 2009 12:51 pm

    Unfortunately, I am going to respectfully disagree with you. On average, you will be removing a creature from the game with power in the 0-3 range (Birds of Paradise, Figure of Destiny, Kird Ape, Dark Confidant, Mutavault, Rhox War Monk). So, do you give them the life or do you give them a free Rampant Growth? To me, the free Rampant Growth is a lot more relevent to obtaining a dominate position in Stage 1 and 2 of a game than say, 2 life.
    Late game is usally very similar, but when it is really close life totals, Path is a more viable play.
    Would you Path to Exile a Noble Hierarch? No. Would you Swords to Plowshares a Noble Hierarch? Most definitely.

    Against afinity, Path is amazing. They do not run basic lands. period. In legacy you can see path getting the initial shock factor, but it is only marginal.

    The early game is almost always ruled by Swords unless your opponent is Affinty or a Phyrexian Dreadnought after Stifle.

    So my vote obviously goes to Swords to Plowshares because it is better in many more relevent situations.

  3. March 10, 2009 4:55 pm

    I want this so bad on so many levels. Rebecca Guay is one of the most talented artists ever.

  4. Ichigo permalink
    March 14, 2009 6:02 pm

    I like Rebecca’s interpretation of the artwork…and your comment about the Swords picture.

    Swords was obviously considered powerful in its day, since it hasn’t been re-printed, and Path is now, given its price for an Uncommon. I’ve put some thought into it, and have decided that Swords is generally better than Path. If someone is mana-screwed, you’re only helping them get un-screwed by giving them a free land, and they’ll likely make it to next turn if you’re using it on them in the first place. Swords will give your opponent a life boost late-game most likely, but if they’re playing something like Chameleon Colossus, having them gain 4 life is much better than taking 8, or even 16. In a control deck, and especially against a muli-coloured deck without much life gain, Swords is simply better.

    Zack made good points during your PAINFULLY long debate, but giving me a free Forest so I can finally use Bant Charm is way more dangerous than giving me a maximum of 4 life…unless someone doesn’t know how to use it, and plays Swords after Exalted kicks in. Bottom line is that Swords has less weaknesses overall.

  5. March 14, 2009 7:10 pm

    Hey Ichigo, do I know you? And yes, that was a painfully long debate.

    You have made some great points, and I agree with all of them.

  6. Ichigo permalink
    March 15, 2009 8:38 pm

    Of course you do. I’ll give you a hint: Teiko.

  7. Lunashine permalink
    March 16, 2009 6:50 am

    I dont know why so many ppl are freaking out about rebeccas art, but Id say theres no way something like this comes close to a masterpiece of ron spears or todd lockwood, which in our case made the original path.

    Sure, the fantastic thing about art is its many many ways of how things can be drawn, and how they are eventually, and how each artist influences it by his/her style, but Rebeccas style is so childish faerie like, it doesnt really belong into a game thats meant to be the tcg with some more serious art then the other kiddy crap.

    I guess I made myself a lot of enemies now… but well, cant be helped, its my oppinion after all.

  8. Ichigo permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:46 pm

    I don’t think everything SHOULD be mature; I mean, faeries do nothing but prank other races…tell me that’s not childish, I dare you.

    You didn’t make an enemy out of me, lunashine; I do disagree with you on how EVERYTHING should be all mature, however. Furthermore, how could there be genuine lightheartedness if there weren’t childishness thrown into the mix?

  9. thegamearmory permalink
    March 18, 2009 12:41 am

    I’ve played a few months with condemn enough to hate it. Decks who will utilize Path to Exile will mostly carry four or three… two at the least. Looking around maybe you can judge by how long it takes for you before your pissed out a creature, even Boat Brew prefers Path because it can target its own than Coup the hell out of the Table. Path to Exile will always be supported by another Path… (Sound stupid?) well I’d rather path 2 huge creatures in a row than Plowshare them. đŸ™‚ I’d have to say Path.

  10. Lunashine permalink
    March 18, 2009 6:13 am

    I didnt say everything should be mature, I just meant that magic is actually the tcg which artwork is aimed towards elder players. I totally agree on what you said about faeries and lighthearted artworks.

    See, I find the artwork for fyndhorn pollen, for example, hilarious but then again it really doesnt belong in a setting where giant dragons, zombies weird artifact stuff and what not else roam the planes, does it? đŸ˜€

  11. elias permalink
    March 18, 2009 7:25 am

    I just got a copy today and I’m enjoying it very much. Now I think I need three more.

  12. Ichigo permalink
    March 18, 2009 1:18 pm

    I see what you’re saying now. I’d pretty much have to agree, but one thing: the one thing out of place, I think, is awesome. If half the spells were completely errant (in terms of artwork), which sometimes happens in other card games, that’s totally lame.

  13. overladenprince permalink
    March 19, 2009 10:02 pm

    Well I have to admit it Dillon, you have persuaded me that swords is a better card in many situations (although as you said it depends on the situation). In the Esper deck that I run it would actually benefit me more if they were to path an Esperzoa (possibly allowing for a next turn Tower Gargoyle or even Master Transmuter with the extra mana) compared a gain of 4 life, and since it is a combo deck anyway, swords would mess alot of things up for me…

  14. kipkiperson permalink
    March 25, 2009 1:10 am

    u play path so if you need to YOU get a free rampant growth plus 2 dudes from lark

Leave a comment